Preparation of a Stockwhip Handle

METHODS BY TONY ANGEL

1_These are the unstraightened handles
These are the unstraightened handles

 

2_I place the handles in the microwave to heat them so I can straighten them
Stocks have been placed in a microwave and heated to facilitate straightening

 

3_I straighten my handles with a piece of 4 by 2 with a hole in it in a vice
The stock is then straightened by placing it in a hole of a selected piece of timber. While the timber is still hot it is place in a piece of 4 x 2 timber with different sized holes

 

5_After splitting the cane, I quickly grind the face so both faces are flat
After splitting the cane, I quickly grind the face so both faces are flat

 

6_I use a hook knife to groove the centre of both faces
I use a hook knife to groove the centre of both faces

 

7_After grooving, I use an angle grinder in a vice to burnish the groove to the right depth
After grooving, I use an angle grinder in a vice to burnish the groove to the right depth

 

8_This is the finished article ready for the spring wire
This is the finished article ready for the spring wire

 

9_After glueing I place the cane in a vice made from two pieces of angle iron back to back with nuts and bolts to clamp the cane
After glueing I place the cane in a vice made from two pieces of angle iron back to back with nuts and bolts to clamp the cane

 

10_The next day, I take the cane from the vice and shape the handle. I use liquid nail to form the knob on the keeper end
The next day, I take the cane from the vice and shape the handle. I use liquid nail to form the knob on the keeper end

 

11_A few other little hints I use is a lamb marking pliers and bands to hold the leather in place while plaiting. It is very useful while plaiting two tone. I will use two rings, sometim
A few other little hints I use is a lamb marking pliers and bands to hold the leather in place while plaiting. It is very useful while plaiting two tone. I will use two rings, sometimes three

 

12_This is an example of the use of rings
This is an example of the use of rings
Leave a Reply

